Faith Davis

University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Faith Davis, a third-year student at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, is a student leader who is actively involved in efforts to dismantle inequity in the healthcare system. Through her work with the Alternative Spring Break program for the past three years, she has helped to develop sustainable partnerships involving UMBC students and a number of Baltimore organizations focused on bringing about positive change in the city. She also has engaged in research aimed at increasing access to health services for people experiencing homelessness and addressing food insecurity on UMBC’s campus. A thinker who approaches public challenges with creativity and compassion, Faith is committed to taking an interdisciplinary approach and using evidence to address societal problems.

Freeman Hrabowski
University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Personal Statement

I was first introduced to the prevalence of housing insecurity on a family visit to Washington D.C. as a teenager, where I saw countless people attempting to find shelter in the streets because they had no other place to stay. Through my studies as a sociology major and my work in Baltimore with UMBC’s Center for Democracy and Civic Life, I have grown aware of the many barriers people face to secure adequate housing. A barrier I am particularly passionate about breaking down is the common cycle of people not being able to afford housing due to health conditions. These individuals then experience housing insecurity, worsening their health conditions and making it even more difficult to obtain housing. On campus, I am involved in research that provides health services to people experiencing housing insecurity. I am also an Alternative Spring Break leader who connects with Baltimore organizations addressing food insecurity to foster relationships between the student participants and their community and to inspire collaborative solutions.

Faith Davis
B.S. Biology, B.A. Sociology: Class of 22-May
written 2021

2021 Fellows Alphabetical by Institution

  • a
  • b
  • c
  • d
  • e
  • f
  • g
  • h
  • i
  • j
  • k
  • l
  • m
  • n
  • o
  • p
  • q
  • r
  • s
  • t
  • u
  • v
  • w
  • x
  • y
  • z
Salma Yajaira Gómez Pineda, Universidad de Monterrey Daniel Khoshkepazi, University of Baltimore Mansi Seth, University of California Berkeley Emma Davis, University of Central Arkansas Victoria Orindas Corcino, University of Central Florida Sai Reddy, University of Cincinnati Areyana Janae-Andrea Proctor, University of Colorado Boulder Irene Soteriou, University of Connecticut Ryan Greensfelder, University of Dayton Nicole Kennedy, University of Delaware Jenny Truong, University of Denver Miguel Garcia, University of Houston-Downtown Courtney Washington, University of Illinois at Chicago Celena Zacchai, University of Maine at Augusta Brandon Reed, University Of Maine at Farmington Callie Jordan, University of Mary Washington Ayotomiwa Fashola, University of Maryland Eastern Shore Faith Davis, University of Maryland, Baltimore County Gifty Kessie, University of Massachusetts Lowell Ian Malesiewski, University of Miami Isabella DeArmitt, University of Missouri-St. Louis Mia McKinney, University of Montana Allison Hrovat, University of Mount Union Vanessa Chavez Jurado, University of Nebraska at Omaha Lauren Martin, University of North Carolina Charlotte Justin Bray, University of North Georgia Jerrell Bates, University of Northern Iowa Caitlyn Cano, University of Notre Dame Anjali Mishra, University of Oregon Alisa Ghura, University of Pennsylvania Brianna Silva, University of Richmond Kapri Tulang-De Silva, University of San Diego Jada Curry, University of San Francisco Daniela Isaza, University of South Carolina Upstate Sophia Faacks, University of St. Thomas Hannah Beauchamp-Pope, University of Wisconsin Green Bay Beth Allen, University of Wisconsin-Madison Alisson Anguiano Salas, University of Wisconsin-Parkside Jessica Smith, University of Wisconsin-Superior
  • update-img-new

    Get updates on what's new in the Campus Compact Network